SAAMA is promoting 4 different awards. Each award has a similar but slightly different application form. The area of focus of each award is shown in the table below. Applicants are welcome to submit more than one application or the same applications to more than one award where applicable.

The closing date for applications is midnight on 3 May 2024


Description of award

Asset Management Achievement Award

Nominate Now

An award that demonstrates innovation in asset management which has delivered value in cost optimisation, increased performance, and risk reduction benefits. This award can address a specific project or initiative which has achieved an exceptional Asset Management and/or Maintenance outcome, notable for its eminence, effectiveness, efficiency, ethics, equity, and environmental impacts. Examples of projects could be planning, operations, construction, information systems, business change, research projects or implementation of an Asset Management or Maintenance System (or part thereof). Significant attention will be given to originality and contribution to whole-life asset management, risk management, impact on business performance, progress with implementation, integration into business and contribution to asset knowledge.

Individual Contribution Achievement Award

Nominate Now

Someone with typically more than 5 years’ experience in asset management who has made a personal contribution to improving their business/organisation asset management practices or to the asset management knowledge base. Specific focus will be given to initiatives identified and implemented, contribution made to whole life asset management, development of methodology or structures that will enhance asset management or the implementation of asset management.

SAAMA Council members are not eligible for this award.

Young Asset Management Practitioner

Nominate Now

To recognise the success of emerging talent (<5 years) in the field of asset management. The individual may be commencing their career in Asset Management or a new sector.

Special attention will be given to development done in Asset Management, initiatives implemented in the respective environments, as well as personal growth and accomplishments in the study field of asset management.

President’s Award

Nominate Now

An award that recognises any individual who has made an exceptional and outstanding contribution to the development, embedment, and entrenchment of Asset Management in Southern Africa.

The individual must have made a significant contribution to their business/organisation or the asset management knowledge base that demonstrated capacitation, innovation and eminence in cost optimisation, increased performance, and risk reduction.

SAAMA Awards 2023 Winners

Project Achievement Award Winner - Lloyd Wallace (Zutari)

Project Achievement Award Runner up - Thean van den Berg (Pragma)

Individual Achievement Award Winner - Lloyd Wallace (Zutari)

Individual Achievement Award Runner up - Kobus Brits (Pragma)

Value Achievement Award Winner - Pick 'n Pay

Young Asset Management Award Winner - Tebello Khumalo (Pragma)

President's Award Winner - Dr Jasper Coetzee

Honourary Life Member - Robert Childs (IMQS)

Honourary Life Member - Joe Paradza (Zutari)